Rated X Approaches 2015 Keeping Rock Alive


A band that consists of some of the finest session musicians in rock history released a brand new rock album today. The name of the band is Rated X and the album is a self-titled recording released on Frontiers records. The members include vocalist Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow, Deep Purple, Yngwie Malmsteen), guitarist Karl Cochran (Ace Frehley), bassist Tony Franklin (The Firm, Blue Murder, Whitesnake) and legendary drummer Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge, Rod Stewart, Ozzy Osbourne, Blue Murder). Talk about a powerhouse band. The band is showing that traditional hard rock in a similar style to Deep Purple can and will exist even as the year 2015 approaches.


The album starts off with a bang with the track ‘Get back to me crown’ where Joe Lynn Turner brings the energy the same intensity as a singer as we heard during his time in Deep Purple and Rainbow. It makes the perfect introduction to the album especially when the guitar solo by Karl Cochran sounds like it was Richie Blackmore inspired. Cochran is a traditional rock guitar player that combines a blues and funk style. He is the perfect guitar player for this project because he brings a lot to the table as a guitarist.

We have watched the music video for ‘This is who I am’ that was released a few months ago and just hearing that track we knew these gentlemen were onto something good. When listening to ‘I don’t cry no more’ one can only be impressed by the use of strong distorted guitar riffs and the rock vibe. Karl Cochran does a nice job with his guitar playing with songs like ‘Devil in disguise’, ‘Maybe tonight’, and ‘On the way to paradise’.

Overall, Rated X is a homerun band and album, which was obvious just by seeing who is in this band. We heard that Karl Cochran had a stroke earlier in the year and that he is currently going through a recovery. We hope that Karl Cochran gets well quickly so that we can see Rated X go on tour and rock the world.

Track Listing:

  1. Get Back My Crown
  2. This Is Who I Am
  3. Fire and Ice
  4. I Don’t Cry No More
  5. Lhasa
  6. Devil In Disguise
  7. You Are the Music
  8. Peace of Mind
  9. Maybe Tonight
  10. On the Way to Paradise
  11. Our Love Is Not Over
  12. Stranger in Us All



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *